Kinky Boots, Adelphi Theatre – 21/08/2015

IMG_6955

It seems like forever ago I excitedly woke up at 8am to buy tickets for the first preview of Broadway smash-hit Kinky Boots, so I could hardly believe it when the day finally came to watch the show I had been in love with for so long. As I am about to get into it I feel obliged to mention this is a review of a PREVIEW – there’s been a lot of drama going on at the moment about reviewing shows that haven’t officially opened and I don’t want to get accused of anything so please do bear in mind that things about the show will probably change, and I didn’t get to see a finished product. But as I’m going to tell you it’s the best show I’ve ever seen and recommend you all rush out and buy a ticket immediately, I didn’t think anyone would have tooooo much of a problem with me posting this!

Following the story of struggling Northampton shoe factory Price and Son whose fortunes are turned around when they start manufacturing high heeled boots for men, Kinky Boots is about as camp as they come with glitter, drag queens and sass in abundance. But at its heart it is an inspiring, uplifting tale of staying true to yourself and accepting others for who they are (and who doesn’t love that!?). There was an incredible atmosphere – everyone there seemed to be as excited as I was and had obviously prepared to come and see this first preview as they were prior fans of the show. I got chatting to the guy in the upper circle merchandise booth who had seen the dress rehearsal of the show and assured me that it was exactly as amazing as I had hoped which only helped to amp up the excitement levels further!

Cyndi Lauper’s score is honestly one of the most catchy and exciting I have heard for a long time. I remember first listening to the show and then being hooked on it for weeks – there are just so many brilliant pop-inspired tracks that you can’t help but have in your head for days. My favourite has to be Everybody Say Yeah which is the song that really made me love the show in the first place after seeing this Tony awards performance – Jerry Mitchell’s choreography is absolutely outstanding and almost defies belief. The use of conveyor belts in the factory is so fun and must take a lot of concentration to get right, but the cast made it look easy. I also love Raise You Up/Just Be, an uplifting closer that I couldn’t resist singing and dancing along to!

Kinky Boots’ cast was also incredible with everyone involved playing an important part. Killian Donnely was fab as Charlie, really shining during Soul Of A Man. I also loved Amy Lennox who played Lauren – her History Of Wrong Guys was absolutely hilarious whilst also showing off her impressive vocals. But the real star of the show is undoubtedly Matt Henry. Billy Porter’s Broadway portrayal of the role is surely a lot to live up to but Henry will certainly be giving him a run for his money – a total triple threat proved by the minutes of applause given after emotional climax Hold Me In Your Heart.

I absolutely loved Kinky Boots and can’t recommend that you go and see it enough. It’s one giant, fabulous party and it’s here to stay!

Kinky Boots is now playing at the Adelphi Theatre.

[5/5]

3 thoughts on “Kinky Boots, Adelphi Theatre – 21/08/2015

Leave a Reply

