Katherine Ryan, Civic Theatre – 04/06/2015

IMG_6824

So the exams are finally over, and I can return to my usual schedule of theatrical adventures! I did my last exam yesterday – I think it could certainly have gone better, but it could equally have gone much, much worse. I managed to sufficiently act as if I knew what I was talking about, though the reality may be an examiner getting my paper and bursting into laughter at how anyone could write anything so ridiculous. Let’s hope that’s not the case! Overall I think they’ve gone okay – I got off to a terrible start with a History exam on the one part of the course I hadn’t revised, but things gradually improved and I’m glad it’s over (well, at least for another year).

What better way to celebrate then than an evening of comedy at my local theatre! Katherine Ryan is a Canadian comedian who’s often seen on British panel shows; Have I Got News For You, Mock the Week, Never Mind the Buzzcocks to name but a few. I look forward to her appearances; she’s always really funny and luckily her live stand up show was no exception. I’ve really not been to see many comedians (only Jon Richardson at the same theatre about a year ago), so I was definitely excited to be at the Civic again for another fun evening of entertainment.

Katherine was supported by Irish comedian Al Porter who was really funny and great for getting the crowd going before the main act came on. His joke about Don’t Tell The Bride was so spot on – I have also been a culprit of shouting at the people on there ‘WHY DON’T YOU JUST TELL HIM WHAT YOU WANT BEFORE YOU GO ON THE SHOW???’. I’m struggling to think of another way to describe him apart from ‘he was just so funny!’, but that is the truth!

My stereotypical girly vibes came out as Katherine came on stage in what can only be described as one of the nicest jumpsuits I have ever seen, and I did consider trying to find her after the show to ask where she got it (I decided against this though as it may have been just a bit weird). She was really funny as well (I may have to consult the thesaurus to find some other words to describe comedians aside from ‘funny’), and her jokes about famous celebrities, especially Tulisa and Cheryl Cole were right humdingers (see, I told you I would find a new word!).

A really funny (sorry, I mean witty) night of comedy, I’d definitely recommend catching her tour if you can and I’m looking forward to seeing even more comedians at the Civic Theatre soon.

Katherine’s Glam Role Model tour continues until 2nd July, with tickets available here.

[4/5]

Leave a Reply

